Rate The Site


Your Email Address

Please enter your comments & suggestions

Join Us to Know about the Latest Cars and
Great Offers on Cars & Car Accessories

201313 Sep


Ashwin Sundar


Yudai Jinkawa and Ashwin Sundar took top honours in the MRF 1600 races at Round 4 of the MMSC-FMSCI National Racing Championship held at the MMRT in Chennai. S Narendran continued his unbeaten streak in the LGB F4 category while Deepak Chinappa won his second race of the weekend in the LGB FS category. N Leelakrishnnan put on a flawless display to win in the ITC category.


The first MRF 1600 race saw Tarun Reddy jump Yudai Jinkawa at the start before the safety car came out due to a collision between Advait Deodhar and Arjun Narendran. Both drivers retired on the spot. Tarun continued to lead till the last lap when Jinkawa pulled off a brilliant move to pass the young Indian. Tarun had to settle for 2nd place and was pushed to the line by a charging Vikash Anand, who managed to pass Ashwin Sundar earlier in the race.


In the second MRF 1600 race of the day championship leader Ashwin Sundar won a chaotic race ahead of Vikash Anand and Advait Deodhar. Ashwin starting on pole position, lost out at the start to a fast starting Tarun Reddy. Ashwin reclaimed the top spot few corners later and almost collided with Tarun on the next straight as he tried to re-pass him. Tarun, while trying to overtake Ashwin at the end of the straight spun off bringing the safety car on to track. The race was red-flagged soon after as Kizuki Hirota failed to see the Safety Car board and crashed in to the back of Arjun Narendran on the start finish straight. At the re-start Ashwin got away cleanly and pulled away from the rest of the pack to extend his championship lead. Vikash followed him across the finish line ahead of Advait.


N Leelakrishnan won his second race of the weekend with a commanding win in the ITC race. The battle behind him was a three way affair that went down to the wire. V Ramnarayan managed to take second place ahead of Arjun Narendran and Ashish Ramaswamy with less than a second separating the three. Arjun Balu continued to struggle with his new Volkswagen Vento and could only manage to finish in 5th position. Race 3 of the ITC finished in the same order with Leelakrishnan taking yet another convincing win ahead of Ramnarayan and Arjun Narendran, who were left to fight it out for second position.


S Narendran made it 8 wins in 8 races after winning the first race of the day in the LGB Formula 4 category. Behind him Jigar Muni fought off Sudanand DR to claim second place. In the LGB Formula Swift category Deepak Chinappa once again stood on the top step of the podium with another win. He was followed closely by Rahul Ramaswamy who tried in vain to get past. He finally finished less than half a second behind the leader. Prashanth K ended up in third place.


In the Race 2 of the Indian Junior Touring Cars category, Feroze Khan took his second win of the weekend. VJ Senthil finished in second place with Charen Chandran finishing in third place. Feroze Khan made it a clean sweep in Race 3 of the IJTC and finished ahead of Biren Pitwala and VJ Senthil.



Cars battling it out in the Indian Touring Cars category




Race 3, LGB Formula 4

1.       S Narendran

2.      Jigar Muni

3.      Sudanand DR


Race 3, LGB Formula Swift

1.       Deepak Chinappa

2.      Raghul Ramaswamy

3.      Prashanth K


Race 2, Indian Junior Touring Cars

1.       Feroze Khan

2.      VJ Senthil

3.      Charen Chandran


Race 2, Indian Touring Cars

1.       N Leelakrishnan

2.      Ramnarayan V

3.      Arjun Narendran


Race 1, MRF 1600

1.       Yudai Jinkawa

2.      Tarun Reddy

3.      Vikash Anand


Race 3, Indian Junior Touring Cars

1.       Feroze Khan

2.      Biren Pitawala

3.      Dr VJ Senthil  


Race 3, Indian Touring Cars

1.       N Leelakrishnan

2.      Ramnarayan V

3.      Arjun Narendran


Race 2, MRF 1600

1.       Ashwin Sundar

2.      Vikash Anand

3.      Advait Deodhar


Previous | Next