Rate The Site


Your Email Address

Please enter your comments & suggestions

Join Us to Know about the Latest Cars and
Great Offers on Cars & Car Accessories

201405 Mar


Manohar Bhat, Vice President Marketing, Maruti Suzuki, flags off the 12th Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm from New Delhi on February 24, 2014 


The 12th edition of Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm, a six-day marathon motorsport event, finished at Jaipur after traversing around 2,200 kilometers over the Thar Desert and the entire span of the dune country.


The rally was flagged off from Delhi on February 26. It moved though the wild outback region of Sardarshahar, Bikaner, Chattargarh, Jaisalmer, Sam, Pokhran, Lakshmangarh and other areas to finally end at Jaipur.


“It was remarkable that in a marathon motorsport event open to participation of vehicles of all makes, seven out of the total nine prizes went to Maruti-manufactured vehicles,” said Manohar Bhat, Vice President Maruti Suzuki. A total of 250 champion rallyists from various parts of the country and abroad competed in the four categories of Moto, Ndure, Xplore and Xtreme.




The top prize in the Rally Ndure category went to Satish Gopalkrishnan and navigator Savera D’Souza, driving a Grand Vitara for Team Maruti Suzuki, while  

the team of Pratap Thakur and navigator Dhiraj Arora, driving a Maruti Gypsy, grabbed the second position followed by Ashish Budhia and navigator Arindam Ghosh in the third place.

In Rally Xtreme, the first prize went to Sunny Sidhu of Chandigarh with navigator PVS Murthy. The second prize was won by Sandeep Sharma of Delhi and Varun Davessar of Chandigarh, driving a Maruti Gypsy. The third prize in Rally Xtreme went to Amartej Pal Buwal of Delhi and navigator Nakul Mendiratta, driving a Maruti Gypsy.



In Rally Xplore, Rajesh Chalana and navigator Yogesh Gupta ranked first, driving an SX4 for Team Maruti Suzuki. Second in the category was Nitin Yadav with navigator Ravi Bansal, driving a Mahindra Scorpio. The third prize in the category went to Sanjay Takale with navigator Mustafa, driving SX4 for Team Maruti Suzuki.

In Rally Moto (Motorcycles), CS Santosh of Bangalore retained his title as India’s top biker was driving a Suzuki RMX 450. The second prize in this category went to Helmut Frauwallner of Austria, driving a Yamaha WR450F. Third in Rally Moto was Suresh Babu, driving a Suzuki RMS 450Z.


There were 55 teams in Rally Xtreme and 35 teams in Rally Moto (both categories based solely on fastest timing). In addition, there were 35 teams in Rally Ndure and 25 teams in Rally Xplore (both based on the time-speed-distance format).



Rally Xtreme-

1.     Sunny Sidhu and PVS Murthy

2.     Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar

3.     Amartej Pal Buwal and Nakul Mendiratta


Rally Ndure (category):-

    1. Satish Gopalkrishnan and Savera D’Souza

    2. Pratap Thakur and Dhiraj Arora

    3. Ashish Budhia and navigator Arindam Ghosh


Rally Xplore-

1.     Rajesh Chalana and Yogesh Gupta

2.     Nitin Yadav and Ravi Bansal

3.     Sanjay Takale and Mustafa


Rally Moto-

1.     CS Santosh

2.     Helmut Frauwallner

3.     Suresh Babu


Previous | Next

Maruti Suzuki Car Features

Suresh Rana and Parminder Thakur Win Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare 2016

The journey of 2,200 kilometres traversing through scenic, undulating terrains of South India at the 8th edition of Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare concluded in a grand finale in Goa on Saturday. Suresh Rana and co-driver Parminder Thakur driving their Grand Vitara won the Ultimate Cars category and Ganesh Moorthy and T Nagarajan emerged victorious in the Endurance Cars category. T Natraj had a big-win in the Ultimate Bikes category covering the distance in his TVS Apache.

Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare Rally Reaches Shimoga

Traversing through muddy patches of Bengaluru and Coorg since its flag-off on Sunday, Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare has reached Shimoga the cultural capital of Karnataka. The cut throat competition between 190 rally loving motor enthusiasts on Day 2 concluded with the participants covering a total distance of 383 kilometres with 3 stages spread across 63 kilometres.

More News