Rate The Site


Your Email Address

Please enter your comments & suggestions

Join Us to Know about the Latest Cars and
Great Offers on Cars & Car Accessories

201419 Aug



Travelling through picturesque Northern Karnataka for the first time ever the sixth edition of Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare concluded its thrilling journey after covering over 2000kms in five days.


The rally also traversed through South India’s most exotic locations like Tumkur, Hiriyur, Chitradurga, Bellary, Hospet, Hampi, Koppal, Hubli and Karwar.


On the fifth and final day, Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare 2014 made its way towards the west coast driving through the beautiful countryside to finally reach Goa. The four stages of the day were set in the hills of Koppal district which formed a scenic route, with dense clouds cover while the cars brought in the thunder. A dirt track running up and down the slopes with gravel and slushy corners made for the ultimate adrenaline pumping finale. Altogether the drivers drove a total distance of 500 kms across the four stages bringing the final day to an exciting end.


The top honours for the entire rally went to Team Maruti’s Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar in the extreme category registering a total time of 3:41:26, in their Maruti Gypsy. Sanjay Agarwal and Venu Ramesh Kumar also from Team Maruti, driving a Maruti Gypsy, kept their momentum going to retain their second spot with a time of 3:42:49. Defending champion of Dakshin Dare 2013, Amanpreet Ahluwalia and Sudeep Halder displayed exemplary driving skills and determination to finish the rally at 3rd position with a time of 3:44:56, after being 8th on the second day. Suresh Rana a legend in the motoring circuit continued to push his Maruti Gypsy, to finish fourth with a total time of 3:47:01.


In the Extreme Bike category, Mohit Verma edged out Nataraj to grab the first place finishing the rally with the overall time of 3:29:15. The defending champion of 2013, Nataraj (3:33:30) and Pramod Joshua (3:35:37) stood second and third respectively.




Team Maruti drivers Karthick Maruti and Sankar Anand driving Maruti Suzuki’s latest hot seller Ertiga came first in Endurance category with a total penalty time of just 2:13.  The second spot went to Sachin Singh and Prathima who finished with a penalty time of 2:51. Again in third place were Ganesh Moorthy and T Nagarajan of Team Maruti finishing at 3:10.


After a challenging and enthralling five day battle, the final winners were announced during the closing ceremony held in Goa on August 10. Speaking on the successful completion of the rally Manohar Bhatt, Vice President, Marketing, Maruti Suzuki said, “The rally touched new heights with the new route throwing up unexpected and daunting challenges. The skill and the spirit showcased by the participants has been exemplary. It’s great to see the Maruti Suzuki teams being on the podium positions in both Extreme and Endurance categories. It’s a testament to the fact that Maruti vehicles are suitable for any kind of terrain and can come out on top each time. We hope to see next year’s Dakshin Dare to raise the bar higher.”



Team Maruti's Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar-Winners in the Extreme Car Category




Team Maruti's Sanjay Agarwal and Venu Rameshkumar with their first runners up trophy



Final Results:


Extreme Cars:


Sandeep Sharma/Varun Davessar (3:41:26)

Sanjay Agarwal/Venu Ramesh Kumar (3:42:49)

Aman Preeth/Sudeep Halder (3:44:56)


Extreme Bikes:


Mohit Verma (3:29:15)

Nataraj (3:33:30)

Pramod Joshua (3:35:37)





Karthick Maruthi/Shankar Anand (2:13)

Sachin Singh/Pratima (2:51)

Ganesh Moorthy/Nagarajan (3:10)


Previous | Next

Maruti Suzuki Car Features

Suresh Rana and Parminder Thakur Win Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare 2016

The journey of 2,200 kilometres traversing through scenic, undulating terrains of South India at the 8th edition of Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare concluded in a grand finale in Goa on Saturday. Suresh Rana and co-driver Parminder Thakur driving their Grand Vitara won the Ultimate Cars category and Ganesh Moorthy and T Nagarajan emerged victorious in the Endurance Cars category. T Natraj had a big-win in the Ultimate Bikes category covering the distance in his TVS Apache.

Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare Rally Reaches Shimoga

Traversing through muddy patches of Bengaluru and Coorg since its flag-off on Sunday, Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare has reached Shimoga the cultural capital of Karnataka. The cut throat competition between 190 rally loving motor enthusiasts on Day 2 concluded with the participants covering a total distance of 383 kilometres with 3 stages spread across 63 kilometres.

More News